With Writing As With Speech, Sometimes The Less You Say The Better It Is

It’s something I’ve struggled with my entire life

Dominic DiFrancesco
4 min readOct 15, 2021
Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

Wow, I don’t know her, but she sure knows me

I read a great post yesterday by Diana C which I will link to at the end of this article. Her article struck a cord with me, especially the first few paragraphs, primarily because I could see myself as the poster child for her observation.

The author stated, and I’m paraphrasing here, that some writers love their words so much that it’s almost narcissistic. Well, I don’t know that I’m a narcissist, but as my children told some years ago, — I am wordy.

The kids comment to me involved verbal communication rather than written in this case. They said that I can’t answer a simple yes or no question with one word, instead I answer the question with a yes or no along with a bunch of additional, and in their view, unnecessary commentary. I laughed when they said it, but it also made me aware of this most undesirable character trait.

When I thought about it afterwards, I began to realize that I’ve always been this way. My communication skills, regardless of type have always involved more words that necessary. Although you may not be able to tell from my current writing, I…

--

--

Dominic DiFrancesco

I’m a life-long writer & tech nerd. I love blogging, writing poetry, and short stories. My website https://domdifrancesco.com