Should You Self-Publish Or Submit To Publications, The Age-Old Question

After 1 month of self-publishing, I think I know the answer

Dominic DiFrancesco
3 min readFeb 22, 2022
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

I published an article in January where I changed my view on writing in a niche. Initially, I was against it, I thought, why limit yourself, but then did an abrupt turnaround and realized that there is something to writing in a niche or a few niches.

I also took a deeper dive into my stats and was surprised to find that 40% of my most successful articles in terms of views and reads were ones I self-published. The biggest portion of them fell under one particular niche — technology.

A lightbulb went off, a true “Ah-Ha” moment.

So what did I do with this newfound brilliance?

The first thing I did was to put most of my efforts into publishing in technology. I still publish in other categories, but this is where most of my focus is placed.

--

--

Dominic DiFrancesco

I’m a life-long writer & tech nerd. I love blogging, writing poetry, and short stories. My website https://domdifrancesco.com