My Financial Ineptitude Has Come To Bite Me In The Ass

And now I’ve got to fix it before it’s too late (or maybe it is already)

Dominic DiFrancesco
4 min readJul 11, 2023
Photo by micheile henderson on Unsplash

I’m enjoying a long awaited, and very much needed vacation.

I spent a week in North Carolina with my parents, both in their 80’s whom I haven’t seen in a few years. A bonus was getting some quality time in with my sister, brother-in-law, nephews, and niece whom I haven’t visited with in a number of years. The kids are grown now and either in or graduated from college.

This separation of course is my fault. I should have made a point of visiting sooner but I didn’t and that’s on me…oh well.

Week two of our two week vacation is being spent in a small town on a barrier island in northern Florida at a long-time friends home located between a bay and the Gulf of Mexico. Let me tell you it is beautiful here and a place I could see spending my remaining years in.

This however, is only the backdrop for this article..

Envy vs. Jealousy

I’ve been struggling to try to define what I am feeling. Is it envy, or is it jealousy, and I’ve settled on envy.

I am so happy for our friends being able to retire in such an ideal place, and in a new home that they built…

--

--

Dominic DiFrancesco

I’m a life-long writer & tech nerd. I love blogging, writing poetry, and short stories. My website https://domdifrancesco.com